Chicken Noodle Pho

So I only recently found out that Pho is pronounced “Fuh”.

For those also not in the know Pho is a fragrant Vietnamese noodle soup, usually made with beef or chicken.

I love this dish.

I tend to have it when I want something fresh, healthy and full of flavour.

It’s probably wrong of me to love the M&S version of this dish so much but I really do.

I started to wonder how hard it would be to make it myself.  I was worried that it would be too hard to get the flavours of the dish right. It seemed like it would be rather complex to make but I wasn’t disappointed with my first attempt.

I found so many different recipes for this dish but below is the version I incorporated from the ones I found.

You will need:

  • 1 tablespoon of Olive oil
  • 3 shallots sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves – sliced
  • 1 lemongrass stalk – chopped
  • 1 inch of ginger – sliced
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 3 whole star anise
  • 1 teaspoon of coriander seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon of chinese five-spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black peppercorns
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1.5 litres of chicken stock
  • 2 x servings of dried thin rice noodles
  • 4 spring onions – sliced
  • handful of fresh coriander – chopped
  • dried or fresh red chilli – I used dried chilli flakes
  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce
  • 1 lime cut into wedges

Serves 2

Start off by heating the oil in a frying pan on a medium heat. Add the shallots and garlic and cook until golden.

In a large cooking pot add the cooked shallots and garlic with the lemongrass, ginger, star anise, coriander seeds, chinese five-spice, black peppercorns, sugar, chicken stock, chicken breasts and 1 tablespoon of the fish sauce.

Cover the pot with a lid and bring the ingredients to a gentle simmer. Let it simmer for 15 minutes.

Whilst the pot is simmering prepare the noodles. I placed mine in a bowl and covered with boiling hot water for 2 minutes before draining and rinsing them with cold water. Ensure not to over cook the noodles – I would suggest cooking them for a minute less than your packet instructs.

Divide the noodles between your two bowls.

Now that your pot has been simmering for 15 minutes the chicken breasts should be cooked, so remove the chicken breasts and shred the meat using 2 forks. Divide the chicken between your two bowls by placing it on top of your noodles.

Strain the broth through a sieve and then return it back to the hob. Bring the broth to boil and then add 1 tablespoon of fish sauce.

Ladle the broth over the chicken and noodles. Then add the chilli flakes, spring onion, coriander and soy sauce. Serve with the lime wedge on the side to squeeze over.

Enjoy!!

I was so pleased with the outcome of this recipe. It was fresh and flavoursome.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

